Tate Honor Society


Monday, April 3, 2017

Tate Honor Society inducts 24 first-year students

Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia’s Dean William Tate Honor Society welcomed 24 new first-year student members during its annual initiation ceremony, held April 2 on the Honor Circle, located on the West Lawn adjacent to the Tate Student Center.

Students, their intended majors, and hometowns are:

  • Ashley Alvarez, exercise and sport science, Houston, TX
  • Rachel Anders, animal science and music, Peachtree City
  • McKenna Barney, geography and economics, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Michael Bowler, biochemistry and psychology, Snellville
  • Kelsey Cunningham, film studies and romance languages, Augusta
  • Samuel Driggers, international affairs (duel B.A. and M.A.), St. Simons Island
  • David Forsee, theatre, Perry
  • Stephan George, biochemistry and genetics, Lawrenceville
  • Griffin Hamstead, English, Knoxville, TN
  • Max Harris, political science and international affairs, Marietta
  • Dawson Horah, math and chemistry, Rome
  • Kathryn Kostel, political science and history, Dacula
  • Aditya Krishnaswamy, statistics, Marietta
  • Sheweat Laine, health promotion, Tucker
  • Sarah Kathryn Lasseigne, international affairs and political science, Roswell
  • Jessica Ma, cellular biology and women’s studies, Johns Creek
  • Grant Mercer, biology and international affairs, Marietta
  • Miranda Moore, environmental engineering, Alpharetta
  • Samira Parsa, business, Cobb County
  • Karson Pennington, political science and journalism Augusta
  • Davis Ray, mechanical and industrial engineering (dual MBA), Lawrenceville
  • Sachi Shastri, biology and women’s studies, Putnam County
  • Tarleton Woodson, management information systems, Alpharetta
  • Kai Yost, entertainment/media studies and film studies, Smyrna

“The maturity, perspective, and passion that I see in these first-year students inspires me,” said Juhi Varshney, president of the society and a fourth-year duel major in biochemistry/molecular biology and women’s studies from Rome. “They’re involved in so many areas of campus life, but they all embody our three pillars of scholarship, leadership, and service so well. I can’t wait to see what they accomplish in their next three years at Georgia.”

The society was formed in 1990 as a memorial to William Tate, UGA’s dean of men from 1946 until his retirement in 1971 and whose legacy is something of a campus legend. The society seeks to spread both the reality and lore of the dean by annually recognizing twelve men and twelve women of the first-year class who best exemplify the qualities that Dean Tate possessed. 

Selection is based on academic achievement and extracurricular involvement. Tate Society members are involved in every facet of campus life, and accepted applicants are expected to continue their contributions throughout their tenure at the university.

The Dean William Tate Honor Society is a registered student organization within UGA’s Division of Student Affairs.

For more information, see http://tatesociety.uga.edu.

UGA Student Affairs

The Division of Student Affairs comprises 18 campus departments that enhance the learning environment for students at the University of Georgia by stimulating the learning process, integrating the in-class and out-of-class experiences, promoting an environment conducive to growth and discovery and facilitating intellectual, spiritual, social, occupational, physical, cultural and emotional development. For more information, see http://studentaffairs.uga.edu.

Writer: Don Reagin, 706-542-7774, dreagin@uga.edu
Contact: Juhi Varshney, juhi@uga.edu